Warning: Wireless Flash Can Damage Your Camera!

I’ve killed (some may say murdered!) my D70 and the SB-600 that I was using hand-held at the time.

I’d decided to use Nikon’s CLS system and try to hold the flash as high and as far camera left as I could whilst taking candid shots at a recent wedding reception.  The wedding venue was a large country house with really high ceilings making bouncing the flash impossible.  So rather that shoot with the flash on-camera I decided to go hand-held in an attempt to throw some more flattering light onto my subjects and to move any shadows out of the frame.

All went well until I managed to trip whilst climbing some stone steps!  This was purely down to my brand new wedding shoes and the slightly damp steps and had nothing to do with my joining in with the wedding celebrations – honest!

Instinctively I put out my right hand to break the fall – the quick-release plate which I’d left on from earlier shots took the full force of weight!  The SB-600 meanwhile flew from my left hand and bounced slow motion stylee to the bottom of the steps.  Bits of red and black plasic littered the floor!  Gutted!

If nothing else my experience demonstrates one of the dangers of using off-camera flash that sites like Strobist don’t warn about!  And of course, the folly of leaving a tripod quick-release plate attached to your camera when you don’t need to have!

Those of a nervous disposition may want to look away now!

Broken D70 & SB-600

Note that the D70’s innards are clearly visible that was opened up by the action of the quick-release plate hitting the floor first which sent a huge shock wave straight through the centre of the camera.

Although the SB-600 doesn’t seem to have suffered much damage, the internal workings are completely knackered.  The zoom head has become detached and the unit doesn’t even charge anymore.

The only positive to come out of all of this is that I’m now the proud owner of a fab new D90.

Will I miss the D70?  A little, yes.  Although I won’t miss it’s temperamental shutter or it’s (relatively) crap resolution.

Will I be more careful around steps in future?  Certainly!

Oh, and I’ll probably give the champagne toasts and the free table wine a miss in future too!

4 thoughts on “Warning: Wireless Flash Can Damage Your Camera!

Leave a comment