Nottingham Video

I live quite near to the city of Nottingham.  To say that it has had it’s share of problems would be an understatement.  It was claimed by the press to be the ‘gun-crime capital of the UK’.  Names like ‘Shottingham’ were attached to it.  Crime figures suggested that it had the worst record in the UK for certain other types of crime too.  Figures that were widely disputed.

There’s no denying that there are still problems.  But one should ask whether these problems are any worse in any other large UK city.  It’s always encouraging therefore to see attempts to show the city of Nottingham for what it is.  Stylish, vibrant, modern and rich in culture.

This Arts and Business commissioned video by Amanda C. Smith does just that.  Enjoy!!

Nottingham from Amanda C Smith on Vimeo.

If you have specific questions for Amanda please choose one of the links above.

5 thoughts on “Nottingham Video

  1. First reaction to your film? Pride!
    You have showcased our beautiful city so well and have shown the positives that we all need to promote. Ethnic diversity, culture, good eating, calm and quiet areas as well as the busy nightlife. You have done a fantastic job here and I hope that somebody runs with this and uses it to promote all that is good here.

    I was alerted to this by a contact in my flickr, Nottingham UK group. If you don’t mind, I would like to link to your film on my sites and web pages.

    Lovely photographic techniques. I applaud you all on a great job. Well done.
    G.
    NG5.

    Like

  2. Hi Amanda, a good film which I enjoyed watching. How long did it take you to shoot? Must have been several months considering the rare sunny weather and then the Goose Fair.

    Don’t know if you’re interested in my Nottingham Daily Photo blog site that i have been doing for 3 years. I try to capture episodes and events that occur around the city centre. Showing the past, the present and occasionally the future.

    Like

Leave a comment